Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

Orient Star

Here’s a new Orient Star (Model#:WZ0011EJ) that hacks and can be hand wound. I don’t know when it was released. Unlike Seiko, I often learn about new Orient watches only after they are released to the market. These days, Watch-Tanaka.com seems to be the only website that offers information on new watch releases, particularly the low end ones that the manufacturers do not show on their websites.

I have been watching the Orient Star’s with some interest but have yet to purchase one because they lack hacking and hand-winding features. This particular one finally came with these features and the movement is now comparable to Seiko’s 6R15. However, I still prefer Seiko’s 6R15 Spirit line of watches. I guess I am a bit hesitant on Orient watches due to the following reasons:

  1. The Orient brand isn’t very well established in Singapore. They did not have a distributor in Singapore for many years. In the past 2 to 3 years there is a small company distributing Orient watches in Singapore but I’m not sure if they are officially appointed by Orient. 
  2. My focus on Seiko has stopped me from becoming more interested in Orient. I put Seiko before Orient and therefore would put money towards another Seiko such as the SARB003 instead of the Orient Star.
  3. Design issue. Somehow I prefer Seiko’s design to that of Orient.

Hey, don’t get me wrong. Orient makes nice and affordable watches. They even have high end watches like the Royal Orient. Just expressing my personal preference and opinion here.


Picture courtesy of watch-tanaka.com

Leave a Reply

