Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

Seiko Samurai

The Seiko Samurai comes in both titanium and stainless steel version with different colors but similar design. There are currently five regular models and some limited edition models in the market. They can be collectively referred to as ‘the Samurai family’. 


Orange Samurai SBDA005

The titanium ones are made in Japan using the 7S25 movement and sold mainly in the Japanese market while the stainless steel ones are sold in other parts of Asia. They are powered by the 7S35 movement that is made in Malaysia and are cased in Hong Kong/China like most Seiko automatic watches sold in Asia. Due to their unique case and bezel, they are called ‘Samurai’ by Katsu-san (www.higuchi-inc.com). 

Besides the Samurai, the Seiko 5 40th Anniversary commemorative divers, SKZ201 and SKZ205, are another pair of recent Seiko divers that come in both titanium and stainless steel version. 

 
 
There are a number of differences between the titanium and stainless steel Samurai with the crown guards being the most obvious among them. The Ti version comes with crown guards which I prefer. To me, the SS version looks rather odd without a pair of crown guards. I also prefer the hands on the Ti version. The SS comes with very thin hands and people who bought the watch often end up changing the hands. One thing I like about the SS version is the textured dial. However, I prefer the rectangular markers on the dial of the Ti version.

The black SS version comes with gun metal bezel and crown which I really like. The gun metal color makes the watch look tougher. However, I chose the black Ti version because to me, the crown guards are a must for this watch. The black SS version is still very tempting though. 

The Ti version comes in three colors namely black, blue and orange while the SS version is only available in black and white.


Stainless steel versions – SNM011 and SNM009

   
Ti version – SBDA001, SBDA003, SBDA005
 
 

I understand that Seiko Thailand has released one or two limited edition version of the Samurai in stainless steel. Unlike the Seiko 5 40th anniversary commemorative divers that commemorate the 40th anniversary of Seiko 5 and Seiko divers, the limited edition Samurai is not a true limited edition watch. Neither are the LE monsters. Too many of these ‘no purpose’ limited edition divers will only burst their own bubble. 


Limited edition Samurai SNM017 (picture taken from SCTF)



Please click on any thumb to see a larger image.

 
 
   


16 responses to “Seiko Samurai

  1. Pingback: Svx007 vs White Samuri... Opinions?

  2. Tan GH 07/07/2012 at 1:24 am

    I have a Seiko 5 diver 40th Anniversary (new). and I bought a orange and black Samurai Ti. I find the Samurai far better to wear. Comparing the Seiko 5 to the Samurai, the Samurai is much lighter in weight. It’s a pity Seiko does not produce them anymore.

    • Yeoman 07/07/2012 at 8:27 am

      The Samurai is indeed an excellent watch in terms of design and weight. I have a black, blue and orange Samurai and love them all.

      • Tan GH 20/08/2012 at 5:53 pm

        You’re lucky, to own the three Samurai’s Ti, I tried bidding for a blue Sammie Ti, but the price went up to high and I gave up. I also have a Rolex Submariner, GMT ceramic bezel, but it kept away, I prefer wearing the Samurai’s. The three Seikos cost less than half the price of a Submariner.

      • Yeoman 20/08/2012 at 6:29 pm

        I’m sure you will find a Samurai with reasonable price one day if you keep looking.

  3. Tan GH 14/09/2012 at 8:24 am

    Hi, I just bought 1 orange samurai (display model in the shop) and 1 black NOS, but the orange Sammie comes only with rubber strap. Amongst my friends, we have three orange sammies, and 2 black Sammie’s, all Ti. A friend who is a watch trader, gave me a small piece of polishing rubber. Shape is like rubber eraser we use in school, squarish, he cut a small piece for me. You stroke it one way direction slowly, until all the minor scratche disappear, the WOW ! The buckle look ‘s like almost new ! I heard he got it from HongKong, Me in Penang, Malaysia, we don’t have. Have you come across ? With the Ti bracelet dicely polished up, it makes me even more to wear the orange Ti everyday,
    Thank you

    • Yeoman 14/09/2012 at 9:45 am

      Congrats on the Samurai’s. It is correct that the orange model only come with rubber strap.
      The polishing rubber is quite common. You can find it at the watchmaker’s shop.

  4. Authentica 27/11/2012 at 2:51 am

    i don’t suppose you wanna sell either of your SNM011 or SBDA001 ya?

  5. Mr Hashim 18/02/2013 at 9:19 pm

    Hi,to all watch lover,can you help me,in some info as i,am looking for seiko ti samurai bracelets,anyone want to sell one,pls email me thank you.

  6. Tan GH 25/07/2013 at 12:28 am

    I bought a Samurai Ti, black SBDA001, but bezel is blue color, as in the SBDA003. The owner says he bought new from Higuchi Japan. I am puzzled as the mix up. But anyway, it is only one with such a combo. Looks nice too.

    • Yeoman 25/07/2013 at 10:29 am

      Never seen a black dial samurai with blue bezel before.

      • Tan GH 26/07/2013 at 12:06 am

        I bought the Samurai from a guy in Australia. If I’m not satisfied, I can send it back. Can you help me source for black bezel ? Certain times it looks ok, but then not original.

      • Yeoman 26/07/2013 at 9:51 am

        Since this is a JDM model, I believe only the service centre in Japan has the bezel.

  7. Pingback: An under-appreciated Seiko Diver: Shogun SBDC007 | musingsofawatchaddict

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

