Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

Anodized Seiko

I picked up a shrouded 7S36 200m diver (SKZ255K) last week and it quickly became one of my favorite 7S divers. It cost more than the orange one that I bought earlier but it is much nicer.
 
Seiko has released many anodized watches in the past but this is the first time I bought one. 
 
I don’t have time to take pictures yet but I’m already thinking of what technique I should use to create good photos of the watch. Since this is my first anodized watch, I think it is going to be both interesting and challenging to take pictures of it. Guess I will be looking at some of the G-Shock photos on Casio’s site and borrow some ideas from them.
 
Meanwhile, here’s a cellphone shot:


SKZ255K
 

4 responses to “Anodized Seiko

  1. Peter 07/11/2007 at 1:25 am

    great looking watch…how about some wrist shots? :)also, what do you think of the yellow version:http://www.chronograph.com/store/catalog/products/SKZ251K1.jpg

  2. Yeoman 07/11/2007 at 9:38 am

    Hi there,
     
    Here\’s a q&d cellphone wrist shot:

     
    I have seen all the color variants including the yellow one. IMO, the yellow dial is not very legible because the color of the hour markers is too close to that of the dial. It would be better if the hour markers have black frame around them just like the hour and minute hands.
     
    Just my 2 cents.
     
    Best regards,
    Thomas

  3. Ronny 02/01/2008 at 5:02 pm

    Hi, Am a proud owner of a steel braceleted SKZ255K1,  bought a few days ago.. I can\’t reconcile yr statement that this stainless steel SKZ255K1 is anodized with this Wikipedia article on "Anodizing, or anodising, is an electrolytic passivation process used to increase the thickness and density of the natural oxide layer on the surface of metal parts. This process is of no use on carbon steel
    because rust puffs up and flakes off, constantly exposing new metal to
    corrosion. " http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anodising.  How did you get the info that this watch is anodized? Best regards, Ronny Tan

  4. Yeoman 03/01/2008 at 12:27 pm

    Hi Ronny,
     
    I saw on a number of sales sites that Seiko 5\’s with black colour casing are TiCN anodized (Google "Anodized Seiko" and you will find some of these sites). I am not an expert in this area but I think it is a surface treatment that hardens the stainless steel.
     
    Best regards,
    Thomas

Leave a Reply

