Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

Watch I handled – SKA371P2

Here is a Seiko 200m Kinetic diver that I handled recently. Thanks to Big Time@Tekka for offering to loan the watch to me.



Click on the thumb to see a larger image

This watch comes in yellow, blue (Pepsi bezel) and black dialed versions. The one I handled is a black dialed SKA371 on Z20 rubber strap.


I have bought several automatic divers and sports divers in the past few months and most of them are prety big. For example the SDBC001(Sumo), SKZ227K (Mapmeter) and the SKZ255K (shrouded Seiko 5 diver).

At 48mm diameter, this Kinetic diver is another huge diver that I have handled. It is pretty thick and has lots of wrist presence. Below are some quick comments I have about the watch:

Crystal
Seiko seems to have stopped producing and using Sapphlex crystal for their Kinetic divers. This one uses Hardlex crystal.

Bezel
The bezel is quite nicely done. It is nicer than the 7SXX divers in my opinion. I especially like the cuttings. They are very well machined.

Dial and hands
The dial is layered with round hour markers which I like. The luminous material is generously applied as I can see that they are pretty thick. Matt finished skeleton hour and minute hands helps to reduce glaring effect when reading the time under the sun. Second hand is painted white. Overall, the dial is not cluttered at all. Even the date window is pretty smaller.

Watch case
Case is nicely finished but the Sumo still has the best finishing among the 6R, 7S and kinetic divers. It has drilled through lugs which I like. The inserts on the outer side of the lugs are just cosmetic. The spring bars can be removed using the same method as with any watches with drilled lugs.



Movement
5M62 movement has been around for many years. It has a power reserve of 6 months when fully charged. According to the user manual, you need to swing the watch 250 times to accumulate one day’s worth of power reserve. So you can calculate how many times you need to swing it to get 6 months of power reserve. No wonder I couldn’t get my previous Kinetic watches to full charge last time i had them.

One response to “Watch I handled – SKA371P2

  1. zoovido 06/07/2011 at 2:22 pm

    this is it? very solid and beautiful as well..

Leave a Reply

