Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

New Seiko Caliber: 4R16 Automatic

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to look at the Seiko watch catalog for 2008. It shows the stock photos of the new Seiko watches that will be released in the second half of the year. Besides several new Seiko 5 100m Sports models that are powered by the 7SXX movement, I spotted a new mechanical movement — 4R16. The watch that uses this movement comes under the Motor Sports series.

Here is a photo that I took with my cell phone. Sorry, I can’t show the whole watch because it has not been released yet and I need to protect it I guess. All I can say is, the watch looks big and the style is similar to the SNKF11. And as usual, there are several color and band variants of the watch.

As for the 4R16 movement,
I am guessing it is a watered-down version of the 6R movement. Perhaps
no hack and handwind features or perhaps it uses a different hairspring
that has less than 50 hr power reserve.

For a fan of mechanical Seiko watches like me and many of you out there, new mechanical movement from Seiko is always interesting and intriguing. Watch should be available in the second half of the year so let the countdown begin.

Leave a Reply

