Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

This blog was migrated from http://yeomanseiko.spaces.live.com

SKZ255K

Ok, I can’t procrastinate anymore, here’s a picture of the SKZ255K that I bought three weeks ago.


Please click on the thumb to see a larger image.

 
I have wrote about the orange version before so I will make a few points here.
 
  • The SKZ255K is a pretty big watch but doesn’t really look big on the wrist probably due to the small and layered dial. I did a check and found that the diameter of the crystal is about 1mm smaller than that of the SKX diver. (SKX007 etc). This means the dial under the crystal is smaller than that of the SKX diver. 
  • The shroud on the watch makes it different from the other 7S divers. For the first time, a shrouded 7S diver. However, unlike the professional shrouded divers, the shroud on the SKZ255K is interrupted by the lugs. On closer examination, I also notice that it cannot be removed without removing the crown.   
  • I know some people do not like the ‘5’ logo on the dial. To me, there’s nothing wrong with the logo. I don’t differentiate between ‘Seiko’ and ‘Seiko 5’ if they are powered by the same 7SXX movement. 
 

Leave a comment